CHARLESTON, W.Va. — Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin appointed four new members to the Marshall University Board of Governors and one new member to the WVU board.

The governor tabbed his former chief of staff, Charleston attorney Rob Alsop, as a new member on the WVU board. The four first-time appointments on the Marshall board were James Bailes, Phil Cline, Tim Dagostine and Christie Kinsey.

Alsop’s position was held by Dr. Tom Clark, whose second and final term expired June 30. Clark died last week.

Tomblin made 10 appointments between the two boards Friday, including three holdovers on the Marshall BOG and two on the West Virginia BOG.

Diane Lewis and Bill Wilmoth received a second four-year term on the WVU board, while Ed Howard III, Dale Lowther and Dr. Joseph Touma have been reappointed at Marshall.

The appointments were effective immediately.


bubble graphic


bubble graphic


  • Big John

    I guess if Dr. Clark had not died he would of still be there. Why haven"t the member of the West Virginia Real Estate Commission ben replaced. He has been there in excess of 14 years while the LAW states he can only serve 8 years before he must step out for a year.


    Cronyism is alive and well