Big12Sports.com

West Virginia rallied to upset Oklahoma State in the Big 12 tournament last spring, capping a 33-26 season.

 

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — During last month’s groundbreaking for WVU’s new ballpark, baseball coach Randy Mazey emphasized the need to “ramp up the schedule” in his second season.

To that aim, the Mountaineers will make two trips to the West Coast in 2014, playing a three-game set at San Diego State in February followed by a Spring Break excursion of seven games in eight days in March.

“Part of your college education is visiting different places and seeing different things,” Mazey said. “I think it’s neat for the kids to play people from across the country.”

The nonconference lineup also includes Ohio State, Penn State, Virginia Tech and home-and-home sets against Maryland, Pitt and Marshall.

The other highlight of the schedule, as previously reported by MetroNews in July, involves Mazey’s insistence on returning conference games to Hawley Field for the park’s final season. WVU will host Texas, Oklahoma State and Kansas State in Morgantown, potentially installing temporary seating.

“We’ve got all this talk in town about Big 12 baseball and no one’s ever seen a Big 12 game here,” Mazey said.

The Mountaineers will face Baylor in Charleston, where WVU played the bulk of its Big 12 home schedule last season.

“I don’t think the excitement in WVU baseball has ever been as high as it is right now,” Mazey said. “So we’re going to try to keep that going as long as we can.”

WEST VIRGINIA BASEBALL 2013
Friday, Feb. 14            vs. Louisville (Charleston, S.C.), noon
Saturday, Feb .15        vs. Delaware (Charleston, S.C.), 11 a.m.
Sunday, Feb. 16          at The Citadel (Charleston, S.C.), 1 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 21            at San Diego State, 9 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 22       at San Diego State, 5 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 23          at San Diego State, 4 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 28            vs. Duke (Myrtle Beach, S.C.), 2 p.m.
Saturday, March 1       vs. Coastal Carolina (Myrtle Beach, S.C.), 1:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 2         vs. James Madison (Myrtle Beach, S.C.), TBA
Saturday, March 8       at UC Riverside, 4 p.m.
Sunday, March 9         at Sacramento State, 4 p.m.
Sunday, March 9         at UC Riverside, 8 p.m.
Tuesday, March 11      at UNLV, 9 p.m.
Thursday, March 13     at Cal State Northridge, 6 p.m.
Friday, March 14          at Cal State Northridge, 6 p.m.
Saturday, March 15      at Cal State Northridge, 4 p.m.
Tuesday, March 18      Marshall  (Charleston, W.Va.), 4 p.m.
Friday, March 21          at UNC Wilmington, 6 p.m.
Saturday, March 22      at UNC Wilmington, 2 p.m.
Sunday, March 23        at UNC Wilmington, 1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 25       Pitt, 3 p.m.
Friday, March 28          Baylor (Charleston, W.Va.), 2 p.m.
Saturday, March 29      Baylor (Charleston, W.Va.), 4 p.m.
Sunday , March 30       Baylor (Charleston, W.Va.), 1 p.m.
Tuesday, April 1            at Pitt, 6 p.m.
Friday, April 4               at TCU, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 5           at TCU, 5 p.m.
Sunday, April 6             at TCU, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, April 8            at Penn State, 6:30 p.m.
Friday, April 11              Oklahoma State, 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 12         Oklahoma State, 6 p.m.
Sunday, April 13           Oklahoma State, 1 p.m.
Tuesday, April 15         Ohio State, 6 p.m.
Thursday, April 17        at Oklahoma, 7 p.m.
Friday, April 18             at Oklahoma, 7 p.m.
Saturday, April 19        at Oklahoma, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, April 22         Maryland, 6 p.m.
Wednesday, April 23    Marshall, 6 p.m.
Friday, April 25             Kansas State, 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 26         Kansas State, 4 p.m.
Sunday, April 27           Kansas State, noon
Friday, May 2               Texas, 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 3           Texas, 4 p.m.
Sunday, May 4             Texas, 1 p.m.
Tuesday, May 6            Virginia Tech (Princeton, W.Va.), 6 p.m.
Friday, May 9                at Kansas, 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 10          at Kansas, 3 p.m.
Sunday, May 11            at Kansas, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, May 13          at Maryland, 4 p.m.
Thursday, May 15         at Texas Tech, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, May 16              at Texas Tech, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 17          at Texas Tech, 3 p.m.
May 21-25                     Big 12 Championship (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
bubble graphic

8

bubble graphic

Comments

  • Rick S.

    Kudos to Coach Mazey. He came in here and took a team that was expected to be totally overmatched in the big, bad Big 12 and turned them into winners. That is a testament to what good coaching and commitment by the players can do.

    And true to his word, he did "ramp up the schedule." In addition to the Big 12 games, he constructed a very good and challenging non-conference schedule, complete with regional rivalry games. This is probably the best WVU baseball schedule I have ever seen (and I go back to 1994).

  • ROB HOVATTER

    Opening with 16 straight road games? Wow.

    • Pruntytown

      You are correct. I bet the team hates playing games in South Carolina and San Diego in February instead of Morgantown.

  • len

    How can you not love this guy.....what a job last year and then telling the powers that be that he wants to play in Morgantown. I wish all of our coaches were like him

  • derek

    Great to see it coming to Princeton.

    • Pruntytown

      I stand corrected. You win this round, Derek. Congratulations. Go WVU.

  • NorthCentral WV Lady

    Does Coach Mazey know anyting about football???????

    • len

      I'll bet this guy would be a good coach in anything because he is a LEADER!