HUNTINGTON, W.Va.—Marshall’s turnaround from a 5-9 team to East Division champs has not gone unnoticed by the coaches in Conference USA.  Nine Thundering Herd players were named to the first and second all-league teams in Conference USA.  Seven earned honorable mention and five were selected to the Conference USA All-Freshmen team.

Marshall finished the regular season 9-3 and advanced to the Conference USA Championship game for the first time since it joined the league in 2006, but fell to Rice 41-24.

Center Chris Jasperse, receiver Tommy Shuler, tight end Gator Hoskins and defensive lineman James Rouse were all named First Team All-Conference.

Hoskins and Shuler have been favorite targets of quarterback Rakeem Cato throughout the season.  Hoskins leads all tight ends in the country with 13 touchdown receptions.  Hoskins also has 717 yards receiving and is averaging 16.3 yards per catch.  Shuler has 97 receptions for 1,097 yards and nine touchdowns.

Jasperse has been the anchor of the offensive line playing a team-high 906 snaps this season.  Jasperse has made 38 career starts for The Herd.

Senior defensive tackle James Rouse recorded 35 tackles, 18 solos and a team-high 12 stops behind the line of scrimmage.  Rouse missed the 2011 and 2012 seasons and is hoping for a sixth-year of eligibility from the NCAA.

Five other players were named Second Team All-Conference.  Quarterback Rakeem Cato, tackle Garrett Scott, tackle Clint Van Horn, linebacker Jermaine Holmes and punt returner Devon Smith.

Cato continued to climb the Marshall passing records in 2013.  Cato has thrown for 3,579 yards, completing 59.3 percent of his passes.  Cato has 36 touchdowns to his credit and has thrown only nine interceptions.

Running back Essray Taliaferro, defensive linemen Alex Bazzie and Ra’Shawde Myers, linebacker Evan McKelvey, defensive backs Darryl Roberts, Monterius Lovett and Corey Tindal were all named honorable mention all-conference.



QB – Shane Carden, East Carolina, Jr.
RB – Charles Ross, Rice, Sr.
RB – Trey Watts, Tulsa, Sr.
OL – Stetson Burnett, Tulsa, Sr.
OL – Chris Jasperse, Marshall, Jr.
OL – Cyril Lemon, North Texas, Jr.
OL – Nate Richards, Rice, Sr.
OL – Will Simmons, East Carolina, Sr.
TE – Gator Hoskins, Marshall, Sr.
WR – Justin Hardy, East Carolina, Jr.
WR – Ryan Grant, Tulane, Sr.
WR – Tommy Shuler, Marshall, Jr.

DL – Christian Covington, Rice, So.
DL – Cory Henry, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DL – IK Enemkpali, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
DL – James Rouse, Marshall, Sr.
DL – Julius Warmsley, Tulane, Sr.
LB – T.T. Barber, Middle Tennessee, So.
LB – Shawn Jackson, Tulsa, Sr.
LB – Zach Orr, North Texas, Sr.
DB – Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, So.
DB – Phillip Gaines, Rice, Sr.
DB – D’Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
DB – Marcus Trice, North Texas, Sr.

K – Cairo Santos, Tulane, Sr.
P – Hunter Mullins, UAB, Jr.
KR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.
PR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.
LS – Trevor Gillette, Rice, Sr.

QB – Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Jr.
RB – Vintavious Cooper, East Carolina, Jr.
RB – Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech, So.
OL – Jordan Davis, East Carolina, Sr.
OL – Garrett Scott, Marshall, Sr.
OL – Clint Van Horn, Marshall, So.
OL – Josh Walker, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
OL – Mason Y’Barbo, North Texas, Jr.
OL – Scott Inskeep, UTSA, Jr.
TE – Turner Petersen, Rice, Sr.
WR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.
WR – Jamarcus Nelson, UAB, Jr.
WR – Jordan Taylor, Rice, Jr.

DL – Aaron Bellazin, North Texas, Sr.
DL – Greg Hickman, FIU, Sr.
DL – Lee Pegues, East Carolina, Sr.
DL – Khyri Thornton, Southern Miss, Sr.
LB – Jermaine Holmes, Marshall, Jr.
LB – Derrell Johnson, East Carolina, Sr.
LB – Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
LB – Michael Kutzler, Rice, Sr.
DB – Bryce Callahan, Rice, Jr.
DB – Damon Magazu, East Carolina, Sr.
DB – Michael Mudoh, Tulsa, So.
DB – Triston Wade, UTSA, Jr.

K – Chris Boswell, Rice, Sr.
P – Sean Kelly, Florida Atlantic, So.
KR – Autrey Golden, UTEP, So.
PR – Devon Smith, Marshall, Sr.
LS – Josh Cuthbert, Louisiana Tech, Sr.

bubble graphic


bubble graphic


  • wvureject

    cato, schuler and haskins going to the league! Them boys got skills!

  • Greg

    ECU's Carden got C-USA MVP award and thus 1st team honors. He was good (except for when he played MU.)

  • Jason

    Cato, 2nd team all conference QB while also being named C-USA Offensive Player of the Year? Can somebody please explain that rationale?

  • hailey

    I call BS on Cato not being 1st team.... I am not really a MU fan but I would take Cato over just about any QB in the country. Accurate passer smart guy and a real competitor.

    • Jason

      yep...can't read too much into these types of is mostly political b.s....Cato has matured alot since his freshman year..even in the game against Rice I think he hit the receivers in the hands alot and they just couldn't hang on that day....let's see what he does in the bowl game and next season with most of the players coming back.

  • Joey

    Cato second team under Carden hmmmm

    • Jason

      Yet CUSA offensive player of the year....