MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — The West Virginia University Board of Governors finalized its presidential search committee in a meeting Monday in Morgantown.

The 22-member panel will get to work soon to find a permanent replacement for former WVU President Jim Clements who is now the president at Clemson. Former WVU President E. Gordon Gee will serve in Morgantown until a selection is made. Gee began his work on campus Monday.

The committee will begin going over applications in late-February and hopes to have a recommendation for president submitted to the state Higher Education Policy Commission by June.

BOG Chair Jim Dailey II said the committee members come from various constituency groups. Non-voting members include Dailey, who will chair the committee, Gee and state Higher Education Chancellor Dr. Paul Hill.

Other selection committee members include:

From the Board of Governors:

Thomas V. Flaherty, BOG vice-chairman; attorney, Flaherty Sensabaugh Bonasso, PLLC; Charleston, WV

Ellen S. Cappellanti, BOG secretary; attorney, Jackson Kelly, PLLC; Charleston

Diane Lewis; president, Action Facilities Management Inc.; Morgantown.

From the Faculty Senate:

Robert Griffith, associate professor, School of Pharmacy and a faculty representative on the Board of Governors.

Carolyn Atkins, professor and director of undergraduate programs in speech pathology and audiology, College of Education and Human Services.

Matt Valenti, professor of electrical engineering, Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources.

From Classified Staff:

Lisa Martin, senior project coordinator, Office of University Events and chair, Staff Council.

Dixie Martinelli, office administrator, WVU Extension Service and staff representative on the BOG.

Paul R. Martinelli, program manager, WVU Extension Service.

From the Student Government Association:

Colleen Beatty, a 2012 biology graduate who was an Order of Augusta Scholar and current student in the School of Medicine; Upper Tract, WV.

Liz Gulick, a senior majoring in elementary education and member of the WVU Honors College and co-captain of the WVU volleyball team; Wheaton, IL.

Paul Garton, a senior philosophy and international studies double major and this year’s Mr. Mountaineer; Jane Lew, WV.

From the WVU Foundation:

Cynthia Roth, president, WVU Foundation.

Susan Brewer, member of WVU Foundation board, CEO, Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC; Morgantown.

From the WVU Alumni Association:

John Fahey, chairman of the Alumni Association, senior vice-president United Bank Inc.; Morgantown.

Jack Rossi, immediate past chair of the Alumni Association, presiding member, Arnett & Foster PLLC; Charleston.

From the divisional campuses:

Carolyn Long, campus executive officer, WVU Institute of Technology; Montgomery, WV.

From the administration:

Elizabeth Dooley, associate provost for undergraduate academic affairs and dean of University College.

Robert Jones, dean of the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences.


bubble graphic


bubble graphic


  • Kiara Grays

    Happy Presidents Day.

  • cutty77

    My Pick from The First Day is and will Continue to Be Gaston Caperton. But Joe M doesn't like him,because he's afraid of Gaston Caperton.

    • True WVU Fan

      Cutty77, you have got to be kidding. Please no more political hacks in the Presidents chair. I must admit....Based on your opinion of Luck and Holgorsen, your post didn't surprise me

      • cutty77

        Your Right and I back down from either one of them either. I like yours too. HINDSIGHT IS 20/20. True WVU Fan, yea I'm sure. If you have to tell somebody what you are, you ain't. You belong to The Church of Whats Happening Now.

  • stophating

    The committee's decision is irrelevant-- Joe Manchin makes all WVU related decisions.

    • cutty77

      You are soooooooooooooo Right on that one Young Man.

  • WV Grad

    Keep Gee.

    • WVU 74

      A prior news release stated the interim appointee (Gee) will not be a consideration for permanent President.

      However, if the Search Committee wants to pull off a big joke, by all means, keep Gee

  • Tom P.

    That's a lot of committee members. They are going to fall all over themselves picking a new president.