CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The 15 semifinalists for the 2014 MVB Bank West Virginia Scholar Program have been announced.

One of the current high school juniors will be awarded a four-year scholarship at West Virginia Wesleyan valued at $125,000.  It’s a full scholarship that includes tuition and fees along with room and board starting with the Fall 2015 semester.

The second prize is a four-year $5,000 scholarship at West Virginia Wesleyan, while the third prize is a four-year $2,500 scholarship at the Upshur County school.

The semifinalists are as follows:

Carly Brand, Lewisburg, Greenbrier East High School

Cassidy Duffy, South Charleston, Cross Lanes Christian School

Todd Foster, Craigsville, Nicholas County High School

Miranda Godfrey, Kearneysville, Washington High School

John Goellner, Morgantown, Trinity Christian School

Brooke Hinzman, Elkins, Elkins High School

Joanna Johnston, Hurricane, Hurricane High School

Daniel McNeil, Morgantown, University High School

Devan Perdue, Morgantown, Morgantown High School

Rebekah Perry, Huntington, Spring Valley High School

Kathryn Quillen, Vienna, Parkersburg High School

Karizona Sanson, Summersville, Nicholas County High School

Erick Trent, Point Pleasant, Wahama High School

Ashley Walker, Clarksburg, Liberty High School

Mitchell Winkie, Bridgeport, Bridgeport High School

The semifinalists will next be interviewed before a list of 10 finalists is put up for a vote online.

The winners will be announced in Buckhannon on June 18.

The MVB Bank West Virginia Scholar Program is now in its sixth year.

In addition to MVB Bank, West Virginia Wesleyan and MetroNews, the sponsors for the 2014 West Virginia Scholar Program are the West Virginia Forestry Assocation, the West Virginia Hospital Association and Friends of Coal.

bubble graphic


bubble graphic


  • Sue Jackson

    Can't see where to vote for Wesleyan candidates. Help thanks!

  • Independent View

    As a Wesleyan Alum, three of these candidates will receive a great education at a fine institution!
    Good luck to all of the semifinalists for making the initial cut!