CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The state Supreme Court ruled this week that a lawsuit brought by faculty members against the Fairmont State Board of Governors should move from Marion County to Kanawha County.

A group of professors at Fairmont State filed the suit claiming the FSU Board of Governors and the Higher Education Policy Commission (HEPC) violated West Virginia’s Open Meetings Act by deliberating about a public decision in private. Professors Galen Hansen and Albert Magro filed suit in March.

Suits against state agencies or institutions, unless an express exception exists, are expected to be filed in Kanawha Circuit Court, the high court ruled.

The BOG and HEPC moved to have the suit thrown out, based partially on grounds of improper venue. That motion was rejected in Marion County.

Fairmont State formed a new search committee in May. They selected Dr. Mirta Martin, former President of Fort Hays State University, last month. She replaces outgoing interim President Stephen B. Jones in January 2018.

MORE: Read the full ruling here.

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

bubble graphic

bubble graphic