MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — A pair on in-state high school coaches received national recognition on Thursday by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.

The NFHS awarded 23 high school coaches from across the country as 2017 National Coaches of the Year. This year’s awards recognize coaches for the 2016-17 school year.

Melissa Holland,

Parkersburg boys soccer coach Don Fosselman

Parkersburg’s Don Fosselman was named the national boys soccer coach of the year and Wirt County’s Janet Frazier was named the national volleyball coach of the year.

The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in two “other” sports – one for boys and one for girls – that are not included in the top 10 listings.

The NFHS Coaches Association has an advisory committee composed of a chair and eight sectional representatives. The sectional committee representatives evaluate the state award recipients from the states in their respective sections and select the best candidates for the sectional award in each sport category.

The NFHS Coaches Association Advisory Committee then considers the sectional candidates in each sport, ranks them according to a point system, and determines a national winner for each of the 20 sport categories, the spirit category and two “other” categories.

A total of 667 coaches will be recognized this year with state, sectional and national awards.

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

bubble graphic

bubble graphic