Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

West Virginia guard Jevon Carter (2) steals the ball from Missouri’s Jordan Geist during their nonconference game in Orlando this season.


MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — Known for pestering opposing ballhandlers with wicked-quick hands, Jevon Carter became the first four-time member of the Big 12 All-Defensive team on Sunday.

West Virginia’s senior point guard also repeated as the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year, something previously accomplished by only Kansas centers Jeff Withey (2012 and 2013) and Cole Aldrich (2009 and 2010).

The Big 12’s runaway leader in steals for a second consecutive season, Carter set the West Virginia career mark last month.

Carter also was a unanimous selection to the guard-dominated All-Big 12 team, joining Kansas’ Devonte’ Graham, Oklahoma’s fab freshman Trae Young and Texas Tech’s Keenan Evans. Kansas State forward Dean Wade was the only first-teamer taller than 6-foot-3.

The league’s postseason awards are voted upon by the 10 head coaches.

Graham took Player of the Year honors, with coaches valuing his role in the Jayhawks’ 14th consecutive regular-season title over Young’s status as the nation’s top scorer (27.5 points per game) and assist-maker (8.9).

Young claimed Freshman of the Year, while Kansas’ Bill Self and Texas Tech’s Chris Beard shared Coach of the Year.

West Virginia center Sagaba Konate joined Carter on the All-Defensive team as well as making All-Big 12 third-team.

All-Big 12 First Team

Devonte’ Graham, Kansas, G
Dean Wade, Kansas State, F
Trae Young, Oklahoma, G
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech, G
Jevon Carter, West Virginia, G

All-Big 12 Second Team

Manu Lecomte, Baylor, G
Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk, Kansas, G
Barry Brown, Jr., Kansas State, G
Kenrich Williams, TCU, F
Mohamba Bamba, Texas, C

All-Big 12 Third Team

Jo Lual-Acuil, Jr., Baylor, C
Udoka Azubuike, Kansas, C
Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma State, G
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU, F
Sagaba Konate, West Virginia, C

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Jevon Carter, West Virginia, G
Barry Brown, Jr., Kansas State, G
Mohamba Bamba, Texas, C
Sagaba Konate, West Virginia, C
Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech, G

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

Lindell Wigginton, Iowa State, G
Malik Newman, Kansas, G
Trae Young, Oklahoma, G
Mohamed Bamba, Texas, C
Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech, G


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

bubble graphic

bubble graphic