CHARLESTON, W.Va. —¬†¬†Evan Jenkins and Tim Armstead have won seats on the state Supreme Court.

“I’m certainly excited and humbled by it and appreciative of the people of West Virginia for giving me this opportunity,” Armstead said.

Jenkins and Armstead were pushed as a team by political action committee advertisements. Gov. Jim Justice also promoted the pair during a half-hour infomercial the night before Election Day.

President Donald Trump promoted Armstead during a rally last Friday in West Virginia.

The two Supreme Court seats opened after two resignations in the wake of controversy.

“We have a lot of work to do to make people believe again in the court,” Armstead said.

Justice Menis Ketchum resigned July 27, the day before impeachment proceedings were to begin in the House of Delegates.

Ketchum later pleaded guilty to a federal mail fraud count related to his use of a state vehicle and state-issued gas card for his travel to out-of-state golf outings.

Justice Robin Davis announced her resignation August 14, one day after the House passed articles of impeachment. Davis had faced four articles related to the court’s use of state funds.

The seat vacated by Ketchum is up for re-election in 2020.

The seat vacated by Davis is up for re-election in 2024.

Governor Justice made appointments to the seats until they were filled through election. The appointees were Jenkins and Armstead.

Justice, a Republican, specified that he was looking for conservatives to place on the court.

Ten candidates filed to run for each of the two divisions.

Candidates for Division 1, which represented the seat Ketchum vacated, included: Armstead, Tabit, Harry Bruner, Robert Carlton, Ronald Hatfield, Mark Hunt, Hiram Lewis, D.C. Offut Jr., Chris Wilkes and Jeff Woods.

Candidates for Division 2, which represented the seat vacated by Davis, included: Jenkins, Jim Douglas, Robert Frank, Jeff Kessler, Brenden Long, Jim O’Brien, William Schwartz, Marty Sheehan, Dennise Smith and William Thompson.

Judicial elections in West Virginia are considered nonpartisan.