CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The six finalists for the 2020 West Virginia Teacher of the Year award have been announced.

The state Department of Education chose the finalists among teachers of the year from each school district:

— Alexandria Amorim, a mathematics and engineering teacher at Wayne High School in Wayne.
— Kara Bowles, a special education teacher at Mountaineer Middle School in Clarksburg.
— Clara Tucker-Clemons, a fourth-grade teacher at Highlawn Elementary School in Huntington.
— Aaron Fedorke, a career technical education teacher at Wheeling Park High School in Wheeling.
— Jennifer Schwertfeger, a science teacher at Cameron High School in Cameron.
— Lucas Woods, a music teacher at PikeView High School in Princeton.

The Teacher of the Year will be announced in September during a ceremony in Charleston.