CHARLESTON, W.Va. — Philanthropy West Virginia recognized multiple individuals and groups for their community work at its annual awards ceremony.

According to this association, 2019 marked a record year for honorees and their achievements.

Philanthropy West Virginia handed out six West Virginia Spirit of Philanthropy Awards:

— Critical Impact Award: The Foundation for the Tri-State Community and the Huntington America’s Best Communities Collaborative Team for their efforts to transform Huntington.
— Volunteer Leadership Award: Jean Clark for her work in Preston and Monongalia counties, specifically the Your Community Foundation of North Central WV.
— Lifetime Volunteer Leadership Award: C.J. Kaiser for his work in the Upper Ohio Valley, including 28 years with the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley’s Board of Directors.
— Inaugural Corporate Responsibility Leader Award: Dominion Energy and Dominion Charitable Foundation for their investments and community engagement practices.
— Staff Leadership Award: Tamara Mullins who serves as executive director of the Nicholas County Community Foundation.
— Lifetime Staff Leadership Award: Sheri Ryder, the senior programs officer of the Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation.

The Susan S. Landis Spirit of Philanthropy Endowment at the Beckley Area Foundation made $250 grants to local charities in honor of the award recipients.