Alex Thomas, Author at WV MetroNews

Sunday August 18, 2019

Manchin among lawmakers discussing gun legislation during recess

U.S. Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., is among the lawmakers involved in the discussions on possible policy.

Tuesday August 13, 2019

US House GOP retreat scheduled for September in Baltimore

The retreat was scheduled to take place earlier this year in White Sulphur Springs.

Wednesday August 7, 2019

Manchin discusses possible legislative approaches to mass shootings

U.S. Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., spoke to reporters on Wednesday.

Monday August 5, 2019

Manchin wants another look at background checks; Capito notes possible steps following shootings

The senators' statements follow two mass shootings over the weekend.

Sunday August 4, 2019

Scouts from around the world reflect on World Scout Jamboree

The World Scout Jamboree wrapped up last Friday.

Friday August 2, 2019

Manchin, Capito split on budget agreement

House Resolution 3877 increases the spending limits for discretionary spending for the next two fiscal years while also suspending the public debt limit through July 2021.

Thursday August 1, 2019

World Scout Jamboree comes to a close

The 24th international jamboree wrapped up Thursday evening with a closing ceremony.

Wednesday July 31, 2019

World Scout Jamboree showcases past, connecting scouts to present

This year's jamboree features a miniature version of Brownsea Island and a museum showcasing memorabilia from past World Scout Jamborees.

Monday July 29, 2019

Hundreds keeping watch over World Scout Jamboree

The international event is beginning its second week at the Summit Bechtel Family National Scout Reserve in Fayette County.

Tuesday July 23, 2019

World Scout Jamboree kicks off with opening ceremony

More than 40,000 people from 170 international organizations are taking part in the quadrennial celebration of scouting.

Monday July 22, 2019

Summit, West Virginia opens doors as World Scout Jamboree begins

The Boy Scouts of America is co-hosting the event with Canada and Mexico's scouting programs.

Wednesday July 17, 2019

Manchin leads Democratic colleagues in pushing pension bill

Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., led Sens. Tim Kaine of Virginia, Sherrod Brown of Ohio, and Bob Casey of Pennsylvania in speaking about the American Miners Act.

Tuesday July 16, 2019

West Virginia’s House members vote against resolution condemning Trump

The House passed the resolution in a 240-187 vote.

Tuesday July 9, 2019

Federal appeals court hears arguments on ‘Obamacare’ constitutionality

Eighteen Republican states — including West Virginia — and the U.S. Department of Justice support a December verdict striking down the health care law.

Monday July 8, 2019

Arguments in ‘Obamacare’ appeal set for Tuesday

A federal judge in December ruled against the health care law.

Saturday July 6, 2019

States, US House file supplemental briefs ahead of ‘Obamacare’ arguments

Oral arguments are scheduled for Tuesday.

Wednesday July 3, 2019

US Justice Department files supplemental brief in ‘Obamacare’ lawsuit

Multiple Republican-led states, including West Virginia, are aguing the health care law is unconstitutional.

Tuesday July 2, 2019

Federal appeals court rejects request to delay arguments in ‘Obamacare’ lawsuit

Oral arguments are scheduled for July 9.

Monday July 1, 2019

Judges identified in ‘Obamacare’ lawsuit appeal

Oral arguments are scheduled for July 9.

Tuesday June 18, 2019

New Kanawha County elementary school inching closer to reality

FEMA representatives, as well as local and state officials, took part in a public meeting Tuesday at Elkview Middle School regarding the institution.

Latest Newscasts