Pete Davis, Author at WV MetroNews - Page 2 of 18

Saturday October 26, 2019

Downtown welcome center opens in Beckley

The center also will be a hub for the city's bike sharing service.

Friday October 25, 2019

Suspect named in Beckley bank robbery

The suspect was wearing a Halloween mask at the time of the incident.

Wednesday October 23, 2019

WVU economist: Raleigh County will continue to be commerce driver for southern region

John Deskins, Executive Director of the Bureau of Business and Economic Research, spoke at the New River Gorge Area Economic Outlook forum.

Tuesday October 22, 2019

Mercer County woman charged with murder in Virginia overdose case

Under Virginia law, a person can be convicted of second degree murder in a fatal drug overdose case.

Monday October 21, 2019

National expert shares insight on school culture with W.Va. principals

The conference was hosted by the WV Department of Education's School Leadership Network.

Beckley Police searching for bank robber who fled on bike

The suspect's bike later was recovered a block from the scene.

Sunday October 20, 2019

Miller announces $3.1 million federal grant to address violence against women

More than two-thirds of women murdered in West Virginia are killed by a family or household member.

Thursday October 17, 2019

Record turnout anticipated for 40th Bridge Day in Fayette County

More than 300 veteran BASE jumpers are expected to join this year's event.

Wednesday October 16, 2019

Father shoots, wounds daughter during altercation in Fayette County

The victim is expected to recover.

Tuesday October 15, 2019

Update: Additional murder charges filed in death of man in McDowell County

The victim was a resident of Minnesota.

Monday October 14, 2019

Statewide substance abuse forums begin this week

West Virginia continues to have the highest rate of drug overdose deaths in the nation.

Friday October 11, 2019

Stubborn drought conditions persist in southern W.Va., despite recent rain

The area would need at least 6" of rain to eliminate drought conditions.

Wednesday October 9, 2019

Federal lawmakers make case for New River Gorge national park designation

U.S. Sens. Manchin and Capito, and Rep. Carol Miller met with community leaders Wednesday.

Tuesday October 8, 2019

Update: Suspect accused of concealing body in McDowell County charged with murder

According to investigators, the victim died in February.

Monday October 7, 2019

Capito, Fox News anchor host “Girls Rise Up” at Raleigh County middle school

Capito says the roles of women in the workplace are expanding at an unprecedented pace.

Saturday October 5, 2019

Annual Chili Night in Raleigh County set for Saturday evening

More than 40 vendors will participate in this year's chili tasting contest.

Friday October 4, 2019

Princeton man convicted of Christmas Eve murder receives maximum sentence

Roger Lemons Jr. was sentenced to 40 years in a state prison.

Thursday October 3, 2019

Update: Human remains found in McDowell County identified; three arrested

The victim was a resident of Minnesota.

Accused child rapist captured in Nicholas County

The suspect allegedly assaulted a five-year-old child he was babysitting.

Update: Victim of fatal hit-and-run in Beckley identified

The 23-year-old victim was pronounced dead at the scene.

Latest Newscasts