Friday December 23, 2016

Time will tell on the W.Va. elk herd

A few observations about the pros and cons of West Virginia's elk reintroduction.

Thursday December 1, 2016

Deer hunts are a collection of forever memories

My dad was a patient soul as I slowly learned how to become a hunter and a man.

Saturday November 5, 2016

The question of Sunday hunting

There's no good reason to NOT allow hunting on Sunday

Tuesday October 18, 2016

Facebook founder proudly eating what he kills

Mark Zuckerberg advocates hunting and fishing for the dinner table.

Friday October 14, 2016

Theater of the Outdoors

Just paying attention while you're in the outdoors will amaze you.

Monday October 3, 2016

Here come the elk

After more than 100 years, elk will soon be back in the Mountain State

Monday September 26, 2016

Shootin’, fishin’, votin’, and snake bites

I've heard tell of it all.

Monday September 19, 2016

Observations from a reformed snake-a-phobe

Education is the best way to change attitudes toward snakes, and there needs to be a change.

Thursday September 1, 2016

Welcome back September

We've reached a special time of year here in Appalachia

Monday August 15, 2016

Olympic incentives don’t impact eligibility for NCAA athletes

Thrasher will receive $25,000 for her gold medal performance, but it's allowable under NCAA rules.

Monday August 8, 2016

Thrasher’s story started in a deer stand

From a deer stand to the Olympic medal stand, Ginny Thrasher has come a long way in a short amount of time.

Monday July 25, 2016

Summertime at Snowshoe is a hidden gem

The coolest spot in West Virginia in the summertime, literally.

Wednesday April 20, 2016

Tourism won’t replace King Coal, but it doesn’t hurt

Trout rodeo highlights list of "things to do" list in southern W.Va.

Friday March 25, 2016

The man I knew as Cadillac

Grieving the loss of a good buddy, but respecting how he'd want me to do it.

Friday February 26, 2016

QDMA responds to Wilson’s remarks

Clearing the air amid a firestorm of controversy and criticism

Tuesday February 23, 2016

Commissioner rebuffs groups advocating lower buck limit in W.Va.

Commissioner Kenny Wilson with rare remarks during the commissioners meeting laid out his claim why a lower buck limit would be an expensive mistake for the state's sportsmen.

Wednesday February 17, 2016

Sunday hunting bill may be in jeopardy

Lawmakers appear reluctant to reverse the outcome of local option votes.

Saturday January 9, 2016

Hunting and Fishing show offers a good way to spend an afternoon

Come one, come all to the biggest hunting and fishing event of its kind in West Virginia.

Monday December 21, 2015

The best Christmas gift I ever received

Things I learned with my first shotgun stick with me even today.

Wednesday November 18, 2015

West Virginia’s new electronic game check seems to be a winner

Free advice to avoid my mistake which almost made an outlaw out of my kid.

Latest Newscasts