Friday May 3, 2019

W.Va. State Parks — Welcome to the future

Our beloved State Parks are finally getting the attention they have long needed.

Friday April 12, 2019

A little hard work for teens might create what we need down the road

Our quest to over protect is going to cost us in the outdoors down the road if we're not careful.

Friday April 5, 2019

Governor’s stocking mandate is a good one, are we willing to fund it?

Justice seeks to improve the trout stocking program and sportsmen seem to like the idea, but do we like it well enough to pay for it?

Saturday March 30, 2019

Another lasting contribution from Bill McKenzie

Donation for rifle team was one of the greatest ever for shooting sports in West Virginia

Friday March 22, 2019

Smokey Bear is quite a trend setter

American icon who spreads a fire prevention message has inspired several other creatures of flame suppression around the world.

Friday March 8, 2019

A home match for WVU shooters

Try your best to see the WVU Rifle Team in action this weekend, you don't realize the level of talent until you probe further.

Friday March 1, 2019

Controversial outdoor legislation marks last days of session

Legislation dealing with deer, bear, and four wheeling, it's been an exciting and exhausting week. Hopefully, I'll see you this weekend if you're in Morgantown.

Friday February 22, 2019

Sunday may bring some “intense fellowship” among sportsmen

Sunday's meeting is moved to a bigger room, with an overflow crowd expected.

Friday February 15, 2019

Be careful what you wish for

History reveals politics driving game management can often have disastrous results

Saturday February 2, 2019

Marvin Wotring’s one last gift

The late gunsmith's craftsmanship was amazing, but his giving heart proved to be his biggest legacy. .

Friday January 25, 2019

A favorite weekend for outdoor enthusiasts

Weekend show benefits causes we all care about.

Friday January 18, 2019

Bird hunting with my boys

My sons have grown-up on me, but getting together for outdoor adventures is still a cherished time.

Friday January 11, 2019

Don’t miss the forest for the trees when you’re hunting

If you're too wrapped up the game you're pursuing, you can miss a whole lot along the way.

Friday January 4, 2019

Mountaineer Heritage season is a solid idea

West Virginia may have hit a home run with a January hunt for purists of the outdoors.

Wednesday October 3, 2018

National Park designation could come at a cost for sportsmen

Hunting is currently allowed in the New River Gorge, changing the NPS designation could end it forever and create dramatic changes in fisheries management as well.

Tuesday June 12, 2018

We are failing kids when we don’t require them to work.

For years we've talked about he need to get kids hunting and fishing more, I'm worried getting them outside to do anything is becoming a lost cause.

Friday May 25, 2018

I put a serious dent in my bucket list on recent road trip

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — I recently had the opportunity of a lifetime, and thankfully I took it. My son Hank has a summer internship with a...

Saturday January 13, 2018

Jim Evans, a friend of the outdoors and a friend of mine

Late retired DNR biologist leaves a lasting legacy in the state's wildlife.

Monday December 18, 2017

My buck season scramble

Despite short noticed, the farm where I learned to hunt provided an opportunity I had never enjoyed.

Tuesday July 25, 2017

One of my few regrets in life

If I could turn back time, I would have worked toward becoming an Eagle Scout.

Latest Newscasts