Tuesday July 25, 2017

One of my few regrets in life

If I could turn back time, I would have worked toward becoming an Eagle Scout.

Tuesday July 18, 2017

The grass isn’t always greener on the other side of the fence–or the river

Trust looks to be eroding fast in what's happening within Ohio DNR.

Friday July 7, 2017

Vacation sometimes gets in my way

There's a story to tell and I'm goofing off at the beach. What the heck man?

Friday June 9, 2017

A lot rides on budget for W.Va. sportsmen and outdoor lovers

A look at what a government shutdown could mean for those of us who love enjoying the outdoors in West Virginia.

Wednesday May 10, 2017

Phares was a giant for trout fishermen

Former DNR trout program leader dies at age 75

Wednesday March 29, 2017

A farewell to a favorite store

Rapid change is coming to American commerce, like it or not.

Thursday February 2, 2017

Fala’s departure is a disappointing loss for W.Va.

Nobody was more qualified to do the job and few handled the duties as well.

Friday December 23, 2016

Time will tell on the W.Va. elk herd

A few observations about the pros and cons of West Virginia's elk reintroduction.

Thursday December 1, 2016

Deer hunts are a collection of forever memories

My dad was a patient soul as I slowly learned how to become a hunter and a man.

Saturday November 5, 2016

The question of Sunday hunting

There's no good reason to NOT allow hunting on Sunday

Tuesday October 18, 2016

Facebook founder proudly eating what he kills

Mark Zuckerberg advocates hunting and fishing for the dinner table.

Friday October 14, 2016

Theater of the Outdoors

Just paying attention while you're in the outdoors will amaze you.

Monday October 3, 2016

Here come the elk

After more than 100 years, elk will soon be back in the Mountain State

Monday September 26, 2016

Shootin’, fishin’, votin’, and snake bites

I've heard tell of it all.

Monday September 19, 2016

Observations from a reformed snake-a-phobe

Education is the best way to change attitudes toward snakes, and there needs to be a change.

Thursday September 1, 2016

Welcome back September

We've reached a special time of year here in Appalachia

Monday August 15, 2016

Olympic incentives don’t impact eligibility for NCAA athletes

Thrasher will receive $25,000 for her gold medal performance, but it's allowable under NCAA rules.

Monday August 8, 2016

Thrasher’s story started in a deer stand

From a deer stand to the Olympic medal stand, Ginny Thrasher has come a long way in a short amount of time.

Monday July 25, 2016

Summertime at Snowshoe is a hidden gem

The coolest spot in West Virginia in the summertime, literally.

Wednesday April 20, 2016

Tourism won’t replace King Coal, but it doesn’t hurt

Trout rodeo highlights list of "things to do" list in southern W.Va.

Latest Newscasts