Outdoors

Saturday May 26, 2018

Opponents vow to fight proposed park hunt in southern W.Va.

DNR defends its template for control hunt saying is a proven plan.

Saturday May 19, 2018

Fifteen-year high in spring gobbler kill

DNR releases numbers.

Friday May 18, 2018

DNR advises don’t feed the bears

When bears find food around your home, they can become destructive, aggressive, and ultimately it doesn't end well for the bear.

Friday May 11, 2018

Rattlesnake study enters year two

Although most probably get weak kneed at the thought, the DNR would like to hear your rattlesnake stories as they gauge the health of the reptile in West Virginia.

Monday May 7, 2018

Popular mushrooms are ripe at this time of year

The narrow window to find morel mushrooms is open in West Virginia this week.

Saturday May 5, 2018

Governor reacts to questions about tourism picture

Some MetroNews listeners wondered if a picture of bears at a bait pile was the best image to promote West Virginia wildlife. So we asked Governor Jim Justice about it.

Friday April 20, 2018

Brothers finally bag their Marshall County ‘Ghost’

Marshall County hunter credits success to when he hunts, rather than where.

Wednesday April 18, 2018

Despite social media claims, hatcheries are in good shape

DNR says social media claims of trout escaping the hatcheries in high water this week was "fake news"

Thursday April 12, 2018

DNR anticipates strong year for spring gobbler hunting

Foliage will be light, but two year old gobblers will be abundant in 2018.

Saturday April 7, 2018

Longtime DNR fish biologist takes reins of fishery programs

DNR's Mark Scott promoted to top fisheries position within the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources.

Latest Newscasts