Sportsline with Tony Caridi  Watch |  Listen

Softball’s Gamby Named First Team All-Conference USA

After being named to the Conference USA All-Academic Team on Tuesday, Rebecca Gamby of the Marshall University softball team picked up her second league accolade when she was chosen as a member of the 2011 All-Conference USA First Team at the catcher’s position.

“Gamby is the epitome of a student-athlete excelling both in the classroom and on the field,” said head coach Shonda Stanton. “We have been telling her that we believed she is the best catcher in the league so it is great for her to be recognized by the CUSA coaches.”   

The announcement made by league officials came on the eve of the Conference USA Softball Tournament, which will begin on Thursday in Greenville, N.C.

Gamby, a junior, is Marshall’s first C-USA First Team honoree since 2008 but is not new to the scene as she was named to the C-USA Freshman Team in 2009. She was a Second Team NFCA All-Region recipient in 2010 and ranks in the top five in three categories in MU record books.

She is now a two-time NFCA All-America Scholar Athlete, an ESPN/CoSIDA Academic All-District selectee, a three-time C-USA Commissioner’s Academic Medalist and was named to the 2011 Academic All-Conference Team earlier in the week.

“Gamby continues to build her resume and is deserving of both conference honors she garnered this week,” Stanton said. “She has really stepped up in a leadership role this season and we will continue to look for her to set the standard for Marshall softball.”  

C, Rebecca Gamby, Marshall
IF, Holly Anderson, Houston
IF, Heather Mott, Memphis
IF, Samantha Cobb, Tulsa
IF, Natalie Land, UCF
OF, Melissa Gregson, Houston
OF, Caitlin Everett, Tulsa
OF, Caley Walden, UAB
UTL, Lacey Middlebrooks, Tulsa
P, Toni Paisley, ECU
P, Aimee Creger, Tulsa

C, Mandy Lowman, UAB
IF, Sissy Jimenez, ECU
IF, Brooke Lathan, Houston
IF, Jill Barrett, Tulsa
IF, Kelly Chapman, Tulsa
IF, Tiffany Lane, UCF
OF, Suzanne Riggs, ECU
OF, Leslie LeJune, Southern Miss
OF, Shelby Blanton, Tulsa
UTL, Jill Jelnick, ECU
P, Donna Bourgeois, Houston
P, Amanda Crabtree, Houston

Jill Jelnick, East Carolina

Kristi Oshiro, East Carolina
Jasmine Robbins, East Carolina
Jordan Lewis, East Carolina
Haley Outon, Houston
Diedre Outon, Houston
Ashleigh King, Memphis
Brittany Lilly, Southern Miss
Jill Barrett, Tulsa
Aimee Creger, Tulsa
Shelby Blanton, Tulsa
Leigh Streetman, UAB

Coach of the Year: John Bargfeldt, Tulsa
Player of the Year: Melissa Gregson, Houston
Pitcher of the Year: Toni Paisley, ECU
Freshman of the Year: Aimee Creger, Tulsa
Newcomer of the Year: Donna Bourgeois, Houston


More Marshall Sports

Marshall Sports
Moss, Parker among nominees for College Football Hall of Fame
This marks Moss' first year on the ballot.
June 6, 2023 - 11:41 pm
Marshall Sports
Notebook: Herd to open season under the lights against Albany
Marshall will play its season opener on September 2 at 6 p.m. An October home game on Thursday night against James Madison will kick at 7 p.m.
May 31, 2023 - 12:01 pm
Marshall Sports
Randy Moss nominated for spot in College Football Hall of Fame
Moss had a pair of exceptional seasons for the Thundering Herd in 1996 and 1997.
May 30, 2023 - 10:12 pm
Marshall Sports
Louisiana blanks Marshall 1-0 in Sun Belt title game
Herd now awaits postseason fate Sunday.
May 13, 2023 - 11:54 pm

Your Comments