6:00pm: Sportsline with Tony Caridi

State Department of Education honoring teachers, school service personnel with virtual event

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Department of Education will name its Teacher of the Year and School Service Personnel Employee of the Year on Tuesday during a virtual event.

This year’s event is taking place online because of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The department will stream the awards at 5:30 p.m. on the department’s Facebook and Twitter pages.

The department has five finalists for each award:

— Erin Anderson, fifth grade teacher at Tennerton Elementary School.
— Michael Knepper, band teacher at Musselman High School.
— Jessica Markwood, career and technical education teacher at Moorefield High School.
— Meghan Salter, gifted education teacher at Martha Elementary School.
— Lisa Smith, STEAM/intervention teacher at Blennerhassett Elementary School.

— Gail Artimez, executive secretary of transportation for Marshall County Schools.
— Stephanie Bennett, coordinator of services and payroll supervisor for Upshur County Schools.
— Debra Dye, supervisory aide for Wirt County School.
— Susie Kirkpatrick, bus operator for Gilmer County Schools.
— Stephanie Toliver, classroom aide at Nitro Elementary School in Kanawha County.

More News

One week from Election Day, West Virginia balloting continues at historic pace
About 240,206 West Virginia voters have already cast ballots for the election.
October 27, 2020 - 1:28 pm
Two systems will bring West Virginia a soaking mid-week
October 27, 2020 - 1:00 pm
Three deaths confirmed in Jefferson County nursing home COVID-19 outbreak
In the past couple of weeks, 55 people at the Willow Tree Healthcare Center in Charles Town have been diagnosed with COVID-19.
October 27, 2020 - 12:10 pm
Poll worker preparations continue ahead of Election Day 2020
It takes above 9,000 poll workers to staff 1,708 precincts in the state, according to the West Virginia Secretary of State's Office.
October 27, 2020 - 10:45 am