Listen Now: Morning News

New state law on earlier Sunday liquor sales goes into effect this weekend

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — West Virginia businesses that sell liquor bottles will be able to sell those items to patrons even earlier on Sundays, beginning this weekend.

According to the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage Control Administration (WVABCA), you can now purchase liquor starting at 6 a.m. on Sundays in West Virginia, an earlier time from the previous 1 p.m. law.

“Retail liquor outlets that sell bottles to go may now start at 6 a.m. Prior to the passage of Senate Bill 2020, it was 1 p.m.,” Gig Robinson, Education/PIO with WVABCA told MetroNews.

The law goes into effect on Sunday, which was 90 days from its passage on June 24.

Senate Bill 561, known as the Brunch Bill, allowed for restaurants to sell alcohol on Sundays beginning at 10 a.m.

Beer is still allowed to be purchased as early as 6 a.m. on Sundays in West Virginia.

“It could be a liquor store and others may also sell other type of products. Food products or pharmaceutical products. But it’s the sell of the bottle that patrons purchase and take home, that is changing from 1 p.m. Sunday to 6 a.m.,” Robinson added.

The exceptions to the new liquor law is Christmas and Easter Sundays.





More News

News
MetroNews This Morning 5-23-24
Summary of West Virginia news, sports, weather for Thursday, May 23, 2024
May 23, 2024 - 6:25 am
News
Yeager Airport approves next year's budget, looks ahead to various projects
Wednesday, CRW board members approved the budget for the Fiscal Year 2025 at just over $13 million which starts July 1.
May 23, 2024 - 2:30 am
News
Bikers roll through West Virginia on way to D.C. in "Run for the Wall"
It's the 36th annual Run for the Wall which honors veterans leading up to Memorial Day.
May 22, 2024 - 10:00 pm
News
PSC launches task force for outage messages coming from utility companies
The task force will first meet June 14.
May 22, 2024 - 8:15 pm