7:00am: West Virginia Outdoors with Chris Lawrence

15 semifinalists announced in WV Scholar Program

BUCKHANNON, W.Va. — Fifteen semifinalists are one step closer to winning a four-year scholarship to West Virginia Wesleyan College.

The semifinalists for the West Virginia Scholar Program were announced on Tuesday’s MetroNews “Talkline.” The list is as follows:

  • Brayton Boggs — Winfield High School
  • Wyatt Burns — Lewis County High School
  • Sienna Chenoweth — Elkins High School
  • Meredith Cottrell — Wirt County High School
  • Lacey Demit — Wood County Christian School
  • Madeline Erwin — Winfield High School
  • Kaitlyn Hatfield — Hedgesville High School
  • Ethan Marks — Ripley High School
  • Mason Nichols — Tyler Consolidated High School
  • Bo Persinger — Midland Trail High School
  • Evan Roach — Point Pleasant High School
  • Gabriella Selders — Morgantown High School
  • Mackenzie Sisolack — Philip Barbour High School
  • Sydney Vaughan — Ripley High School
  • Amanda Walker — Wheeling Park High School

John Waltz, vice president for enrollment management at Wesleyan, said the high school juniors who are advancing to the next round come from all across the state with different backgrounds.

“We have students majoring in political science, education, psychology, chemistry, biology, business, nursing and philosophy, so a really broad range of interests,” Waltz said.

The full ride to the Buckhannon institution is valued at more than $160,000. It includes tuition, fees, and room and board.

Waltz said they love reading a student’s full story.

“One of the essays we ask them to reflect on is what they’d like to contribute to the state of West Virginia. It’s so moving to read why we have students that talk about wanting to get into health care or wanting to get into education or start their own business,” he said.

The average GPA for students who applied was around 3.8, but Waltz said they don’t just look at grades.

Each semifinalist will next go through a personal interview process with an online public vote held at wvmetronews.com toward the end of May.

“They’re going to create some bios and put some information online,” Waltz said. “The public can vote to students they know or support all the way through June 13.”

The winner of the West Virginia Scholar 2022 will be announced June 15.

The sponsors for the West Virginia Scholar Program include title sponsor Greer Industries along with West Virginia International Yeager Airport, the West Virginia Hospital Association, ZMM Architects & Engineers, Friends of Coal and the West Virginia Farm Bureau.

More News

Arrest made in shooting death of Trooper Cory Maynard
Mingo County resident Timothy Kennedy in custody.
June 2, 2023 - 11:12 pm
Manchin takes victory lap following passage of MVP language in debt ceiling package
Senator says, "I stayed on the point, I kept my head down and we kept working through this."
June 2, 2023 - 5:21 pm
New Jefferson County ordinance draws ire of ACLU
Measure deals with minors attending 'Adult Live Performances.'
June 2, 2023 - 5:03 pm
Gwaltney sworn-in to serve as judge in Monongalia County
Ceremony held Friday in Morgantown.
June 2, 2023 - 4:22 pm