10:06am: Talkline with Hoppy Kercheval

Huntington native Dawson first portal pickup for new head coach Jackson

— By Bill Cornwell

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — A combination of Marshall’s season ending and former head coach Dan D’Antoni’s departure led to a depletion of the Thundering Herd’s roster over the last month.

Marshall lost Goran Miladinovic, Marko Sarenac, Kevon Voyles and Kamdyn Curfman to graduation. Other players entered the transfer portal, including Chase McKey, Jacob Conner, Cam Crawford, Aymeric Toussaint and Pete Moe.

Roster returnees include Nate Martin, Obinna Anochili-Killen, Kyle Braun, Wyatt Fricks. Kycen Pruett and Ryan Nutter.

New head coach Cornelius Jackson is rebuilding the roster and has his first commitment in Huntington High alumnus Mikal Dawson, who has one year of eligibility remaining. Dawson, a Huntington native, also spent a year at Huntington Prep.

A 6-foot-5 senior guard, Dawson averaged 5.3 points and 2.5 rebounds per game last season at Akron.

Dawson played in 109 games at Akron, starting 23. He averaged 4.5 points and 2.4 rebounds. 

Dawson missed the 2022-2023 season due to injury.

He had a highly-decorated prep career, winning a state championship as a junior at Huntington High while averaging 23 points and 10 rebounds. Dawson was a two-time state player of the year and captain of the Class AAA all-state team as a senior.

At the time of his official hiring two weeks ago, Jackson said he won’t hesitate to look for transfer portal players to fill the Herd’s needs for the 2024-25 season.

— — — — —

Quarterback Rakeem Cato and receiver Tommy Shuler, leaders of Marshall’s last conference champion football team in 2014, are among nine new members in the Marshall University Athletics Hall of Fame.

The members of the 2024 class were announced late last week. Other members include former softball coach Shonda Stanton and one of her players, pitcher Andi Williamson.

Another former football player, lineman Nate McPeek, is also part of the class, along with baseball players Aaron Blair and Dave Allie and Vanessa Jules and Crystal Walker from track and field.

The new inductees will be honored during the 2024 Hall of Fame Banquet at 6:30 p.m. September 27 in the Don Morris Room at the Memorial Student Center.

More Sports

University dominates decisive state title game against Washington, wins 10-0 for first state championship
The Hawks overcame an earlier loss Thursday to the Patriots behind a dominant pitching performance from Maddie Campbell.
May 23, 2024 - 9:54 pm
St. Marys battles back in championship round, wins decisive game over Petersburg to claim Class A state title
Petersburg defeated St. Marys, 3-2 in the title round before the Blue Devils battled back in the winner-take-all game.
May 23, 2024 - 8:54 pm
Winfield completes Class AA state title defense with 5-2 win over Keyser
Madeline Carroll struck out eight batters in a complete game victory to lead the Generals to the school's second state title.
May 23, 2024 - 5:55 pm
Washington secures spot in Class AAA state championship round with 6-3 win over Cabell Midland
The Patriots will meet University, needing two wins to win the state championship.
May 23, 2024 - 12:29 pm