6:00pm: Sportsline with Tony Caridi

Marshall Athletics Hall of Fame Class Announced

Marshall University’s Hall of Fame Committee has elected a group of 10 former Thundering Herd greats to enter the school’s athletics hall of fame. 

This 2011 class, the 31st all-time, includes a former director of athletics, a former head football coach and student-athletes who participated in eight different sports for the Thundering Herd.

The class will be inducted at the annual Hall of Fame dinner, on Friday, Sept. 23, in the Don Morris Room in the Marshall University Memorial Student Center. Tickets are $30 each, and available from the ticket office by calling 1-800-THE HERD. The class will also be introduced prior to the Herd’s home football game with Virginia Tech on Saturday, Sept. 24.

This year’s class in alphabetical order with a brief bio follows:

George Chaump, Football Head Coach (1986-89): Chaump posted a 33-16-1 overall record in his four years at head coach and led Marshall to its first national championship game appearance in 1987. Chaump led the Thundering Herd to its first Southern Conference Championship and its first No. 1 regular season national ranking in football in 1988. *Chaump is coaching high school at Central Dauphin High School in Harrisonburg, Pa., will be unable to attend the induction this year.

Jonathan Clark, Golf (1992-96): Qualified for the NCAA Regionals and earned all-district honors in 1996. Clark was also a first-team All-Southern Conference selection in 1995 and 1996. He posted an impressive four tournament wins in his career and his career stroke average of 75.4 ranks fifth all-time at Marshall.

John Dotson, Cross Country and Track (1977-81): Marshall’s only four-time, first- team All-Conference track or cross-country athlete made the All-Southern Conference team in cross country from 1977 to 1980. Dotson helped Marshall to its first Southern Conference team championship in 1977 (cross country).

Taly Goode, Soccer (1996-2000): An outstanding goalkeeper who is MU’s all-time leader in career shutouts with 15. Goode earned All-MAC honors in 2000 after setting a school record with 7.5 shutouts and helping Marshall to a school-best 14-5-1 record. He was drafted by the Atlanta Silverbacks of the A-League and played three seasons with the Kansas City Wizards of the MLS.

Roy “Legs” Hawley, Director of Athletics (1926-35) and Baseball Head Coach (1933-35), selected from “Pre-1960 group” (deceased): Hawley, a Marshall Normal School graduate, was Marshall’s second full-time Director of Athletics. He moved Marshall to the Buckeye Conference from the West Virginia Conference in 1933 and coached the baseball team to three consecutive Buckeye crowns (1933-1935). In 1927, Hawley managed to secure radio broadcasts for all Marshall home football, basketball and baseball games with the arrival of WSAZ-AM (WRVC today). Hawley also moved football to Fairfield Stadium in 1928 and the installation of lights at Fairfield in 1929. He went on to become the Director of Athletics at WVU. He is a member of the WVU Athletic Hall of Fame (1996), the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Hall of Fame (1974) and the W.Va. Sports Writers Hall of Fame (1954).

Ken Labanowski, Basketball (1977-81): Labanowski helped Marshall to the Southern Conference Finals in 1979 and the SoCon semi-finals in 1980. “Labo” played in 107 games, scoring 1,252 points, grabbing 751 rebounds, dishing 150 assists, recording 98 steals and he finished his career with a shooting percentage of 55.5%. All of those marks rank among the top 25 in Marshall Basketball history.

Sam Manos, Football (1982-86): Manos, a standout center,  was the cornerstone of group that turned broke Marshall’s 20-season losing streak in 1984 with a 6-5 record. Manos was a three-year starter and a first-team All-Southern Conference selection and second-team Associated Press All-America status in 1986. Manos cleared the way for offensive stars like MU HOF members Tony Petersen, John Gregory, Mike Barber and Ron Darby. He then played for the NFL’s Cincinnati Bengals in 1987 and 1988.

Tim Martin, Football (1992-96) and Baseball (1994-95): One of Marshall’s best receivers and return men of all-time, Martin arrived at MU in 1992 and over the next five years, the Herd would post a 62-12 mark, with two National Championships. He was named first-team All-SC in 1995 and 1996. He ranks fifth all-time in career catches (221), receiving yards (2,886) and touchdowns (tied with 23).

Dr. Robin Vealey, Basketball (1972-76) and Volleyball (1972-76): A standout in both basketball and volleyball at Marshall. Vealey scored 1,033 points in her basketball career to rank 15th all-time at MU. She led MU to multiple MAIAW regional appearances in both sports.

Dan Wells, Football (1975-78) and Track and Field (1976-79): Wells was a four-year starter, game captain and four-time letter winner for the Thundering Herd football team along the offensive line. In 1977, he led all players by playing every one of the offense’s 816 snaps. Wells graded out at 83 percent (of 100) for the season. In 1978, he was rated as most consistent blocker game in, game out, on the squad, and was voted as the team’s MVP. Wells also threw shot put and discus for the track and field team.

More Marshall Sports

Marshall Sports
Louisiana blanks Marshall 1-0 in Sun Belt title game
Herd now awaits postseason fate Sunday.
May 13, 2023 - 11:54 pm
Marshall Sports
Marshall moves into Sun Belt final with 3-2 win over South Alabama
Another strong pitching performance from Sydney Nester proves pivotal for Herd.
May 12, 2023 - 11:02 pm
Marshall Sports
Marshall edges Coastal Carolina 2-1 for spot in Sun Belt semifinal
Herd advances to face South Alabama.
May 11, 2023 - 9:24 pm
Marshall Sports
Marshall football to play at Ohio State in 2024
The Thundering Herd and Buckeyes will clash in Columbus on September 21, 2024.
May 11, 2023 - 11:34 am

Your Comments