Parkersburg South’s Humphreys state winner of Dave Schultz Award

PARKERSBURG, W.Va. – Parkersburg South senior wrestler Josh Humphreys was honored this past weekend by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, announced as the West Virginia state winner of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award (DSHSEA).

The DSHSEA recognizes and celebrates the nation’s most outstanding high school senior male wrestlers for their excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship, and community service. Regional winners are selected from state winners, and the national winner will be chosen from the regional winners.

The Southeast regional winner, which included West Virginia, was Joey Silva out of Florida.

Humphreys, who will wrestle for LeHigh, this past year completed his career with a 168-7 overall record and a fourth state title, winning the 152 pound weight class as a senior.

He also won the state’s Dutton Award, which goes to West Virginia’s most outstanding wrestler.


2018 State Winners of the Dave Shultz High School Excellence Award

State – Name, High School, City, College Attending

Alabama – Barrett Blakely, Oak Mountain High School, Birmingham, Appalachian State University

Alaska – Thomas Dyment, Bethel High School, Bethel

Arizona – Roman Bravo-Young, Sunnyside High School, Tucson, Penn State University

Arkansas – James Noel, Pulaski Academy, L ittle Rock, North Dakota State University

California – Seth Nevills, Clovis High School, Clovis, Penn State University

Colorado – Malik Heinselman, Castle View High School, Castle Rock, Ohio State University

Connecticut – Jarod Kosman, Fitch High School, Groton

Delaware – Robbie Rosser, Milford Senior High School, Milford

Florida – Joey Silva, Lake Highland Prep, Orlando, University of Michigan

Georgia – Justin Ruffin, Union Grove High School, McDonough, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville

Hawaii – Corey Cabanban , St. Louis School, Honolulu

Idaho – Joseph Rice, New Plymouth High School, New Plymouth

Illinois – Anthony Cassioppi, Hononegah High School, Rockton, University of Iowa

Indiana – Brayton Lee, Brownsburg High School, Brownsburg, University of Minnesota

Iowa – Alex Thomsen, Underwood High School, Underwood

Kansas – Jace Koelzer, Olathe South High School, Olathe, University Northern Colorado

Kentucky – Saul Ervin, Union County High School, Morganfield, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville

Louisiana – Blake Ma teu, Archbishop Rummel High School, Metairie

Maine – Ryan Fredette, Winslow High School, Winslow

Maryland – Aaron Brooks, North Hagerstown High School, Hagerstown

Massachusetts – Lucas Cordio, Nashoba Regional High School, Bolton, University of Maryland

Michigan – Brandon Whitman, Dundee High School, Dundee, University of North Carolina

Minnesota – Gable Steveson, Apple Valley High School, Apple Valley, University of Minnesota

Missouri – Zachery Elam, Staley High School, Kansas City, University of Missouri

Montana – Charlie Klepps. Billings Senior High School, Billings

Nebraska – Derek Robb, Sidney High School, Sidney

Nevada – Ty Smith, Virgin Valley High School, Mesquite, Drexel University

New Hampshire – Brian Lindsay, Kingswood Regional High School, Wolfeboro

New Jersey – Shane Griffith, Bergen Catholic High School, Oradell

New Mexico – Wes Rayburn, Piedra Vista High School, Farmington

New York – Jacori Teemer, Long Beach High School, Lido Beach

North Carolina – Quincy Monday, Carrboro High School, Carrboro, Prince ton University

North Dakota – Jared Franek, West Fargo High School, West Fargo

Ohio – David Carr, Perry High School, Massillon, Iowa State University

Oklahoma – Jaryn Curry, Choctaw High School, Choctaw

Oregon – Travis Wittlake, Jr., Marshfield High School, Coos Bay, Oklahoma State University

Pennsylvania – Gavin Teasdale, Jefferson-Morgan High School, Jefferson

Rhode Island – Sam Lynch, Ponaganset High School, North Scituate

South Carolina – Jacob Brasseur, Lexington High School, Lexington

South Dakota – William Turman, T.F. Riggs High School, Pierre

Tennessee – Bryce Wittman, Montgomery Bell Academy, Nashville

Texas – Braeden Redlin, Allen High School, Allen, Ohio State University

Utah – Brock Hardy, Box Elder High School, Brigham City

Vermont – Tyler Burgess, Mount Anthony Union High School, Bennington

Virginia – Patrick McCormick, Poquoson High School, Poquoson, University of Virginia

Washington – Mason Phillips, Stanwood High School, Stanwood, University of North Carolina

West Virginia – Josh Humphreys, Parkersburg South High School, Parkersburg

Wisconsin – Jeremy Schoenherr, Stratford High School, Stratford, University of Wisconsin

Wyoming – Brett Brenton, Natrona County High School, Casper, University of Wyoming

More High School Sports

High School Sports
Overlooked out of high school, Tyson Bagent now center of attention as NFL Draft nears
The NFL Draft will be held April 27-29 and the Martinsburg High School graduate has garnered heavy interest throughout the league.
March 31, 2023 - 1:22 pm
High School Sports
Photo gallery: RCB defeats Elkins, 9-5
March 31, 2023 - 11:49 am
High School Sports
Haller holds Colts in check, Lincoln overcomes slow start for 7-2 victory
The Cougars rallied from an early 2-0 deficit and pitcher Delaney Haller struck out 14 Philip Barbour batters to key the road win.
March 30, 2023 - 11:41 pm
High School Sports
Top-ranked Spring Valley improves to 7-1 with win at Hurricane
Madison Pitts went the distance for SVHS in the circle, striking out nine batters.
March 30, 2023 - 11:16 pm