Class A All-State Football Team

Class A All-State Football Team as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association

First team


QB – Curtis McGhee III, Wheeling Central, Jr.

WR – Timothy Thorne, Pendleton County, Sr.

WR – Sebastian Stickler, Magnolia, Sr.

RB – Hunter America, Doddridge County, Jr. (captain)

RB – Andrew Ritchea, Cameron, Sr.

RB – Jordan Dempsey, Fayetteville, Sr.

OL – Luke Duplaga, Wheeling Central, Sr.

OL – Cole James, Doddridge County, Jr.

OL – Trevor Harrell, Midland Trail, Sr.

OL – Layne Daniel, Sherman, Sr.

OL – Skylar Blatt, Williamstown, Sr.

K – Boston Caruthers, Williamstown, Sr.

UTIL – Bray Price, Wheeling Central, Sr.

UTIL – Mark Rucker, Tyler Consolidated, Jr.

UTIL – Carter Haynes, Williamstown, Sr.


DL – Vinny Mangino, Wheeling Central, Sr.

DL – Mike Hamrick, Magnolia, Jr.

DL – Hunter Jones, Midland Trail, Sr.

DL – Ty Powell, Mount View, Sr.

LB – Adam Murray, Wheeling Central, Jr. (captain)

LB – Elijah Barner, Mount View, Sr.

LB – Eric Brown, Williamstown, Jr.

LB – Luke Jackson, Ravenswood, Sr.

LB – Cole Rapp, Tucker County, Sr.

DB – J.T. Hensley, Sherman, Sr.

DB – Griffin Devericks, Doddridge County, Jr.

DB – Christian Pack, Summers County, Sr.

UTIL – Anthony Robbins, Wheeling Central, Sr.

UTIL – Pat Mirandy, Magnolia, Sr.

P – Tanner Lett, Doddridge County, Sr.

Second team


QB – Kole Puffenberger, Pendleton County, Sr.

WR – Marqus Ray, Mount View, Jr.

WR – Samuel Wykle, Summers County, Sr.

RB – Ty Sturm, Parkersburg Catholic, Sr. (captain)

RB – Caleb Richmond, Meadow Bridge, Sr.

RB – Donathan Taylor, Williamstown, Jr.

OL – Bailey Riddle, Ritchie County, Sr.

OL – Max Cook, Doddridge County, Sr.

OL – Liam Fultineer, Mount View, Jr.

OL – Hayden Hoge, Cameron, Sr.

OL – Kolton Workman, Pocahontas County, Sr.

K – Atikilt Tamiru, Moorefield, So.

UTIL – Griffin Phillips, Tyler Consolidated, Sr.

UTIL – Austin Isaacs, Midland Trail, Sr.

UTIL – Timmy Persiani, Summers County, Sr.


DL – Ryan Brown, Williamstown, Sr. (captain)

DL – Michael Childers, Doddridge County, Jr.

DL – Jared Barrows, Magnolia, Jr.

DL – Colton Dobbs, Cameron, Sr.

LB – Tommy Harper, Sherman, Sr.

LB – Luke Hardway, Webster County, Sr.

LB – Cordell Lesher, Midland Trail, Sr.

LB – Austin Kelley, Doddridge County, Jr.

DB – Payton Marling, Wheeling Central, So.

DB – Nathan Hanshew, Midland Trail, Sr.

DB – Travis Mickey, Cameron, Sr.

UTIL – Devon Crum, Tolsia, Sr.

UTIL – Trin Scott, Cameron, Sr.

UTIL – Reece Nutter, Webster County, Jr.

P – Ben Callaway, Tucker County, Sr.

Special Honorable Mention

Brent Barnette, South Harrison; Ian Beller, Sherman; Jeb Boice, Parkersburg Catholic; Hunter Brewer, Clay-Battelle; Jalon Brunny, Parkersburg Catholic; Zach Cline, Ritchie County;  Kaleb Crisp, Valley Fayette; Ryan Cross, Paden City; Jordan Dancy, Webster County; Gavin Dietrich, Madonna; Morgan Ferris, Midland Trail; Joey Frame, Gilmer County; Aden Funkhouser, East Hardy; Nate Helm, Notre Dame; Max Hilton, Ravenswood; Phillip Hull, Pendleton County; Caleb May, Matthew Jenkins, Moorefield; Tug Valley; Hayden Manns, Wheeling Central; Landon McFadden, South Harrison; Micah McGlaughlin, Mount View; Park Michaels, Buffalo; Dillon Parsons, Tygarts Valley; Owen Poling, Tucker County; Sammy Pullens, Fayetteville; Chad Ramsey, Greenbrier West; Matt Saxon, Paden City; Thomas Sessi, Madonna; Nick Sherman, Wheeling Central; Dillon Shinaberry, Pocahontas County; Pat Snuffer, Notre Dame;  David Stewart, Van; James Stillwagoner, Magnolia; Gavin Streets, Valley Wetzel; Nathan Swaniger, Clay-Battelle; Josh Wagoner, Pendleton County; Jordan Waterhouse, Wheeling Central; Anthony Wince, St. Marys; Brennen Williams, Webster County.

Honorable Mention

Gage Adams, Magnolia; Jason Anderson, Paden City; Hunter Bowling, Sherman; George Brown, Valley Wetzel; Collin Bunting, Doddridge County; Christian Carper, Montcalm; Tyler Chaffin, Tug Valley; Garrett Cook, Madonna; Connor Cunningham, Doddridge County; DJ Devinney, Doddridge County; Blake Dingess, Tug Valley; Colton Dorsey, Greenbrier West; Hunter Emerson, Notre Dame; Jackson England, Buffalo; Logan Frantz, Fayetteville; Hunter Forester, Tyler Consolidated; Daniel Gorbey, Clay-Battelle; Brock Harlow, Notre Dame; Justin Hawkins, Sherman; Sean Hays, Clay-Battelle; Kenley Hickman, Ravenswood; Aidan Lucey, Cameron; Zach Lynch, Wirt County; Tatem McCoy, Ritchie County; Garrett Owen, Ritchie County; Drew Price, Van; Sam Romano, Notre Dame; Jake Rice, Tyler Consolidated; Matthew Ritchea, Cameron; Jesse Rose, Mount View; Keandre Sarver, Summers County; Mike Shreves, Paden City; Jasauni Sizemore, Mount View; Gavin Smith, Van; Wade Smitley, Parkersburg Catholic; Lukas Stephens, Meadow Bridge; Cam Stillwagoner, Magnolia;  Joel Stophel, Parkersburg Catholic; Aiden Stotts, Parkersburg Catholic; Dawson Tharp, Webster County; Willie Walden, Tygarts Valley; Trey Waller, South Harrison; Daniel White, Tygarts Valley; Josh Workman, Van; Andrew Zedell, Hundred.

More High School Sports

High School Sports
Dakan goes the distance, Silvers drives in four as Morgantown bests Musselman, 8-3
The Mohigans improved to 11-3 with the victory.
April 12, 2024 - 5:02 pm
High School Sports
Weir sweeps regular season series from Oak Glen, 14-0
The No. 4 Red Riders collected 9 hits in the 5-inning victory.
April 10, 2024 - 11:31 pm
High School Sports
Varney's dominance allows Herbert Hoover to hand Chapmanville first loss, 3-0
Laila Varney struck out 12 over a complete game shutout and added a 3-for-3 effort with a double and triple at the plate.
April 10, 2024 - 10:39 pm
High School Sports
UHS hires Snyder as new football coach
Snyder, the longtime assistant, replaces John Kelley who announced his retirement earlier this year.
April 10, 2024 - 5:04 am