Class A all-state football team

The Class A All-State Football Team as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association

First Team


WR – Dawson Price, East Hardy; JR

WR – Avery Chapman, Gilmer County; SR

OL – Adam Burnside, Doddridge County; JR

OL – Colton Melrose, Williamstown; SR

OL – Jakobey Meadows, James Monroe; SR

OL – Deante Suggs, Wheeling Central; JR

OL – Conner Shaffer, Ritchie County; SR

RB – Ty Nickell, Greenbrier West; JR

RB – Lorenzo Ferrera, Wheeling Central; JR

QB – Ethan Haught, Ritchie County; JR

K – Eli Tucker, Wheeling Central; SO

U – Gus Morrison, Ritchie County; SR (Captain)

U – Tony Bailey, Mount View; SR

U – Maxwell Molessa, Williamstown; SO

U – Ean Hamric, Gilmer County; SR


DL – Drew Clendenin, Buffalo; SR (Captain)

DL – Malachi Hinger, Moorefield; SR

DL – Ayden Baker, Wheeling Central; SR

DL – Isaiah Purdue, Van; SR

LB – Rickie Allen, Williamstown; JR

LB – Dylan Knight, Doddridge County; SR

LB – Aden Isaacs, Midland Trail; SR

LB – CJ Winnell, Sherman; SR

DB – Eli Allen, James Monroe; JR

DB – Jared Jones, Doddridge County; SR

DB – Isaac Ball, Cameron; SR

U – Wesley Hill, Ravenswood; SR

U – Ayden Simms, Midland Trail; SR

U – Garrett Gibson, Tygarts Valley; SR

P – Riley Tackett, Tygarts Valley; SR

Second Team


WR – Evan Quering, Madonna; SR

WR – Noah Lang, East Hardy; SR

OL – Ian Spadafore, Doddridge County; SR

OL – Chase Franklin, Greenbrier West; SR

OL – Riley Boley, St. Marys; SR

OL – Austin Morgan, Pocahontas County; JR

OL –  Gavin Bell, Ritchie County; SR

RB – Carson Shriver, Clay-Battelle; JR

RB – Sean Winfrey, Tyler Consolidated; SO

RB – Blake Funk, Moorefield; SR

QB – Santino Arlia, Madonna; SR

K – Talon Shockey, Midland Trail; JR

U – TJ Bell, Mount View; SR

U – Seth Richards, Doddridge County; JR (Captain)

U – Dustin Adkins, Meadow Bridge; SR


DL – Ty Roles, Meadow Bridge; SR

DL – Dale Hockman, East Hardy; SR

DL – Austin Bartlett, Ritchie County; JR

LB – Mason Miller, East Hardy; JR

LB – Riley Watkins, Wheeling Central; JR

LB – Tyson Adkins, Summers County; FR

LB – Justin Grimmett, Man; SR

LB – Ridge Flores, Van; JR

DB –  Payton Neeley, Cameron; JR

DB – Colton Hesson, Williamstown; SO

DB – Levi Teets, Trinity; JR

U – Duke Dodson, Summers County; JR

U – Drew Boczek, Clay-Battelle; JR (Captain)

U – Chase McClung, Greenbrier West; SR

P – Connor Bell, Webster County; SR

Honorable Mention

Johnny Arnett, Clay-Battelle; Jaycent Ash, Doddridge County; Brady Baker, James Monroe; Joey Baker, Paden City; Marcus Barnes, Magnolia; Shaun Booth, Van; Parker Bunch, South Harrison; Gunnar Bryan, Cameron; Cole Burkett, Cameron; Noah Burnside, South Harrison; Colby Buzzard, Sherman; Mason Chisler, Clay-Battelle; Drake Cole, Summers County; Ethan Colegrove, Tug Valley; Rian Cooper, Meadow Bridge; Aiden Corbett, Williamstown; Peyton Day, Petersburg; Anthony Finn, Trinity; Erik Flynn, East Hardy; Brady Green, Van; Devin Greene, Montcalm; Jacob Haddix, South Harrison; TJ Hager, Sherman; Justin Haggerty, Mount View; Jeremiah Harless, Man; Cody Harrell, Midland Trail; Jayden Helmick, Tyler Consolidated; Josh Hypes, Richwood; Charles Ibbeson, Doddridge County; Kaden Johnson, Magnolia; Isaac Joy, Williamstown; Jakob Kassey, Clay-Battelle; Cameron Kearns, Buffalo; Tanner Kirk, Tug Valley; Kyle Knight, Trinity; JJ Knotts, Tucker County; Case Landis, Tyler Consolidated; Ethan Lane, Ravenswood; Grant Lively, James Monroe; Ryan Long, Mount View; James McClure, Meadow Bridge; Grady McFee, Wirt County; Bryce McKinney, Doddridge County; Coleman Mongold, Moorefield; Marlon Moore, Ritchie County; Rylee Morgan, River View; Connor Mullins, Meadow Bridge; Allen Nestor, Clay-Battelle; Wyatt Norman, St. Marys; Trey Ohlinger, Wahama; Kolton Parsons, Wirt County; Caleb Ratcliffe, Wheeling Central; Cooper Ridgeway, James Monroe; Dalton Rollo, Sherman; Josh Roush, St. Marys; Robert Ruffner, Midland Trail; Josh Dickerson, Midland Trail; Branson See, Moorefield; Gabe Stewart, Doddridge County; Dale Treadway, Greenbrier West; Sawyer VanMatre, Wahama; Caleb Webb, Montcalm; Zach Wise, Hundred; Dalton Jones, Buffalo

More Sports

Mountaineers, Indiana battle to scoreless draw in season opener
West Virginia coach Nikki Izzo-Brown felt her team lacked urgency in a draw against the Hoosiers to begin the 2022 season.
August 18, 2022 - 11:26 pm
Ajayi adjusts quickly as he hopes to make mark in first and final season at West Virginia
Veteran cornerback Rashad Ajayi hasn't yet been with the Mountaineers for three full months, but says it's been 'fun' to learn a new defense that utilizes more zone coverage than what he was accustomed to at Colorado State.
August 18, 2022 - 5:59 pm
Update: Former WVU quarterback Jarret Doege enrolls at Troy
August 18, 2022 - 5:45 pm
Frankfort seeks fifth consecutive playoff appearance after a run to the quarterfinals in 2021
As the No. 13 seed, Frankfort narrowly missed out on hosting a Class AA semifinal last fall.
August 18, 2022 - 5:40 am